Welcome

We welcome you to the Society of Austrian Planetariums. Our society is an association which aims to promote cooperation and collaboration between Austrian planetariums, to support education and training for all age groups in the fields of astronomy, natural sciences and space sciences, and to initiate and carry out projects in the field of astronomy and related fields of knowledge. The Society’s activities are charitable and not for profit.

The history of our society goes back to 2001, when the then directors of the planetariums in Vienna, Klagenfurt and Schwaz met for the first time for a joint meeting. This resulted in a cooperation agreement between these three planetariums in 2003 and the first show production activities followed. The inaugural meeting of the current society took place on 13 November 2006, also by the then directors of the planetariums in Vienna, Klagenfurt and Schwaz.

News

IPS conference starts in July in Berlin and Jena

From 18-25 July 2024, the International Planetarium Society conference will be held in Berlin and Jena, Germany. Register for the conference now!

Planetarium inspires at the ZOOM Children’s Museum

Digital Planetarium of the Natural History Museum Vienna since October 2023 in the exhibition "Welcome to the Future" at the Zoom Children's Museum!

Anniversary and premiere “100 years of the Planetarium

On 21 October 2023, the "100 Years of Planetariums" anniversary period will begin with two simultaneous events in Munich and Jena and the presentation of the two shows "100 Years of Eternity" and "KIRA".

Projects

ERASMUS+ Project Dark Side of Light

Light pollution. Have you ever heard of this term? How can something as essential as light even be associated with pollution? And yet, there it is.

For several centuries, we have become accustomed to lighting up artificial light sources after dark, considering them natural. But it’s not. Living organisms, both, plants and animals, have adapted to the natural cycle of day and night for tens of millions of years. Our biorhythms work in accordance with sunrise and sunset. The artificial disruption of this cycle has serious consequences, not only for our health but also for the environment and the economy. So why is the increasing level of artificial lighting dangerous for us? Let’s take a look together at what is hidden under the term light pollution and what each of us can do about it.

Mission X – Train Like an Astronaut

“Mission X – Train Like an Astronaut” is an international competition for schools that is held annually. The European Space Agency (ESA) has developed a series of exercises for Mission X that teach children about space knowledge, exercise, sports and the importance of healthy eating in everyday life.

Willkommen

Wir heißen Sie auf der Homepage der Gesellschaft Österreichischer Planetarien herzlich willkommen. Unsere Gesellschaft ist ein Verein, welcher die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit und Kooperation der österreichischen Planetarien bezweckt, Bildung und Weiterbildung aller Altersschichten in den Bereichen Astronomie, Naturwissenschaften und Weltraumwissenschaften unterstützt sowie Projekte im Bereich der Astronomie und angrenzender Wissensgebiete initiiert und durchführt. Die Tätigkeit der Gesellschaft ist gemeinnützig und nicht auf Gewinn ausgerichtet.

Die Geschichte unserer Gesellschaft geht auf das Jahr 2001 zurück, als sich die damaligen Leiter der Planetarien in Wien, Klagenfurt und Schwaz erstmals zu einem gemeinsamen Meeting trafen. Daraus resultierte im Jahr 2003 eine Kooperationsvereinbarung zwischen diesen drei Planetarien und erste Aktivitäten im Bereich der Showproduktion folgten. Die Gründungssitzung der jetzigen Gesellschaft erfolgte sodann am 13.11.2006, ebenfalls durch die damaligen Leiter der Planetarien Wien, Klagenfurt und Schwaz.

Aktuelles

IPS Tagung startet im Juli in Berlin und Jena

Vom 18.-25. Juli 2024 kommt die Tagung der International Planetarium Society nach Berlin und Jena in Deutschland. Anmeldungen zur Tagung jetzt!

Planetarium begeistert im ZOOM Kindermuseum

Digitales Planetarium des Naturhistorischen Museums Wien seit Oktober 2023 in der Ausstellung "Willkommen in der Zukunft" im Zoom Kindermuseum!

Jubiläum und Premiere „100 Jahre Planetarium“

Am 21. Oktober 2023 beginnt die Jubiläumsperiode "100 Jahre Planetarien" mit zwei simultanen Veranstaltungen in München und Jena und der Präsentation der beiden Shows "100 Jahre Ewigkeit" und "KIRA".

Projekte

ERASMUS+ Projekt Dark Side of Light

Lichtverschmutzung. Haben Sie schon einmal von diesem Begriff gehört? Wie kann etwas so Wesentliches wie Licht überhaupt mit Verschmutzung in Verbindung gebracht werden? Und doch ist es so.

Seit mehreren Jahrhunderten haben wir uns daran gewöhnt, nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit künstliche Lichtquellen zu beleuchten und sie als natürlich anzusehen. Aber das ist es nicht. Lebende Organismen, sowohl Pflanzen als auch Tiere, haben sich seit Jahrmillionen an den natürlichen Zyklus von Tag und Nacht angepasst. Unser Biorhythmus richtet sich nach Sonnenaufgang und Sonnenuntergang. Die künstliche Unterbrechung dieses Zyklus hat schwerwiegende Folgen, nicht nur für unsere Gesundheit, sondern auch für die Umwelt und die Wirtschaft. Warum also ist die zunehmende künstliche Beleuchtung gefährlich für uns? Schauen wir uns gemeinsam an, was sich hinter dem Begriff Lichtverschmutzung verbirgt und was jeder von uns dagegen tun kann.

Mission X – Train like an Astronaut

„Mission X – Train Like an Astronaut“ ist ein internationaler Wettbewerb für Schulen, der jährlich durchgeführt wird. Die europäische Weltraumorganisationen ESA hat für Mission X eine Reihe von Übungen entwickelt, die Kindern viel Spaß an Weltraumwissen, Bewegung, Sport, sowie die Bedeutung gesunder Ernährung im täglichen Leben vermitteln.